EYFS 2023

Early Years Foundation Stage Framework Information for Parents and Carers


What is the Early Years Foundations Stage Statutory Framework?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework is a government document that all schools and Ofsted registered early years providers in England must follow.  It sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.  The standards ensure your child will learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

What will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development and educational programmes.  There are three prime areas of learning which we are particularly important for your child's development and future learning:

  • communication and language
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • physical development

There are four specific areas of learning, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

How will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework identifies the essential role of play in your child's development.  It is through both child-led play and play guided by an EYFS practitioner, your child will develop confidence and relationships with others.  Through play, EYFS practitioners will help your child to extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills.

The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning.

  • playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

A greater focus on teaching specific skills will occur as your child progresses through their reception year, which will help them to prepare for year 1.

How will I know how my child is doing?

Each child in the EYFS has a key person who will work in partnership with you, sharing information about your child.  EYFS settings also use observations to share your child's key achievements.

EYFS practitioners use their professional knowledge to understand your child's level of development.  If they have any concerns about your child's progress they will discuss these with you.

Three formal assessments take place during the EYFS:

  • Two Year Progress Check (this will happen between the ages of 24-36 months)
  • Reception Baseline Assessment (at the start of the reception year)
  • Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (at the end of the EYFS)

Your child's EYFS Profile will be shared with you at the end of the EYFS.  This will inform you of your child's progress and whether they have met or are continuing to work towards their early learning goals (ELGs).  There are 17 ELGs your child is expected to achieve by the end of the EYFS.

©Copyright. All rights reserved.

Wings & Wellies Preschool

St George's Church Hall, 

Andover Road, 


RG14 6NU

Tel: 07887 900348

Email: manager@wingswellies.com

Registered Charity No: 1183922

OFSTED Registration No: 2563285



We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details in the privacy policy and accept the service to view the translations.